Use TCP and UDP protocol on one server instance

This is where we can discuss what we would like to see added or changed in OpenVPN.
Post Reply
ivanb
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:07 pm

Use TCP and UDP protocol on one server instance

Post by ivanb » Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:19 pm

Hello everyone,

I've read somewhere that it is planned to have OVPN transport both protocols UDP and TCP as from May 2005. Is it still a in a "wishlist" or there have been some progress regarding this.

I have a PBX VoIP Panasonic which uses TCP protocol for registration and UDP for communication(voice) so I'm wondering if it is possible to make it happen through OVPN...

At least I believe this is a problem as IPsec/PPTP clients are working just fine...but I need it to make it work through OVPN.

Thanks,
Ivan

User avatar
maikcat
Forum Team
Posts: 4202
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Athens,Greece
Contact:

Re: Use TCP and UDP protocol on one server instance

Post by maikcat » Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:35 am

both openvpn setups (tun/tap based) operate at layer 2/3,

so yes they can transport udp/tcp.

what problem do you have?

Michael.
Amiga 500 , Zx +2 owner
Long live Dino Dini (Kick off 2 Creator)

Inflammable means flammable? (Dr Nick Riviera,Simsons Season13)

"objects in mirror are losing"

ivanb
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2013 3:07 pm

Re: Use TCP and UDP protocol on one server instance

Post by ivanb » Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:54 am

Thank you very much for reply!

Yes I know they can transport both protocols but you can define your server conf as TCP or UDP correct? You cannot transport both with one server instance? There must be two instances like one for TCP and other UDP... This is what I understand correct?

Actually, I do not have a problem with OVPN itself as it works perfectly for many years now. I have this issue with VoIP as communication is working one way... One side can hear but the other cannot. I know that probably there could be NAT issue as it is usually the case with VoIP but I beleive I've set it properly.

My issue is if I use TCP I can register to my Panaosinc VoIP PBX and communication works one way only. I assume it might be the problem due to UDP protocol as in the past I was using Asterisk server and SIP Clients were working just fine through OVPN-UDP. Now, if I use UDP protocol I cannot register to my new PBX as I need TCP. I believe I should transport both protocols in order to make it work properly-both ways. Again, I might be wrong.

Furthermore, if I use two server instances, one for TCP and other for UDP, then I have another problem i suppose. I need to define two different subnets for OVPN and I have to route same traffic through two different gateways based on protocol TCP or UDP.

To be honest, I'm a little bit stucked as I'm not sure if I'm doing the whole thing properly. Everything works fine if I'm connected through pptp but it's not what I want.

Just to say I'm trying to make it work from Android device as SIP Client. Even so, I'm having the same problem also from Laptop using Sofphone...

Thanks again for your help,
Ivan

User avatar
maikcat
Forum Team
Posts: 4202
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Athens,Greece
Contact:

Re: Use TCP and UDP protocol on one server instance

Post by maikcat » Wed Dec 11, 2013 12:27 pm

Yes I know they can transport both protocols but you can define your server conf as TCP or UDP correct?
this setting is for the tunnel itself not traffic passing over it.
One side can hear but the other cannot. I know that probably there could be NAT issue as it is usually the case with VoIP but I beleive I've set it properly.
yeap..check if you NAT traffic along the way

Michael.
Amiga 500 , Zx +2 owner
Long live Dino Dini (Kick off 2 Creator)

Inflammable means flammable? (Dr Nick Riviera,Simsons Season13)

"objects in mirror are losing"

Post Reply