Can only ping/access Router and OpenVPN Server

Need help configuring your VPN? Just post here and you'll get that help.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

Forum rules
Please use the [oconf] BB tag for openvpn Configurations. See viewtopic.php?f=30&t=21589 for an example.
Post Reply
tnok85
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:55 pm

Can only ping/access Router and OpenVPN Server

Post by tnok85 » Fri Dec 09, 2011 1:07 pm

Hi,

Trying to get Windows 7 64 VPN'd into a remote network. Need access to the LAN (servers, shares). Server is running CentOS 5.7 on XenServer. This is the first time I've tried to set up an OpenVPN server, and I've tried reading through the docs but I'm missing something...

Currently, I can connect the W7-64 box to CentOS 5.7 and it connects just fine. I'm able to ping back and forth between the two - however, I can't access anything else on the network.

The router is a Netgear FVX538. I have a feeling that my problem is simple and either a setting in my configs or on the Netgear router - I've always had trouble with this thing.


- LAN is 192.168.1.* (was set up before I got here, and there's too much riding on it to do a smooth change...)
- Remote computer's LAN is 192.168.4.*
- 192.168.1.30 is primary DNS srv (on w2k3)
- IP forwarding is enabled - "net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1" in /etc/sysctl.conf

I have a route set up in the router:
Active
Destination IP Address: 10.8.0.0
IP Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
Interface: LAN
Gateway IP Address: 192.168.1.126 (CentOS IP - VPN here)
Metric: 2

server.conf:
dev tun
ifconfig 10.8.0.1 10.8.0.2
secret static.key
log /etc/openvpn/openvpn.log
verb 3
comp-lzo
keepalive 10 60
ping-timer-rem
persist-tun
persist-key
push "route 10.8.0.0 255.255.255.0"
push "route 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0"
push "dhcp-option DNS 192.168.1.30"
push "dhcp-option WINS 192.168.1.30"

client.conf:
remote (host ip)
dev tun
ifconfig 10.8.0.2 10.8.0.1
secret static.key
comp-lzo
keepalive 10 60
ping-timer-rem
persist-tun
persist-key


Any thoughts? Thanks so much.




EDIT: By adding route 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0 to the client's config I can now ping the router (192.168.1.6) and the OpenVPN server (either by 10.8.0.1 or 192.168.1.126) - but NO other PC/server on the network. Does this mean my "push" commands aren't working, since that's already in the server conf under push?
Last edited by tnok85 on Fri Dec 09, 2011 4:55 pm, edited 3 times in total.

User avatar
maikcat
Forum Team
Posts: 4200
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Athens,Greece
Contact:

Re: Can't get access to remote LAN - connects though

Post by maikcat » Fri Dec 09, 2011 1:25 pm

is ip forwarding enabled on centos?

does your client gets its route from server?

what is the selinux status on centos?

is iptables disabled?

Michael.
Amiga 500 , Zx +2 owner
Long live Dino Dini (Kick off 2 Creator)

Inflammable means flammable? (Dr Nick Riviera,Simsons Season13)

"objects in mirror are losing"

tnok85
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:55 pm

Re: Can't get access to remote LAN - connects though

Post by tnok85 » Fri Dec 09, 2011 1:47 pm

maikcat wrote:is ip forwarding enabled on centos?
It is - /etc/sysctl.conf has net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1


maikcat wrote:does your client gets its route from server?
This I'm not sure about, first time setting up. I can tell you that tracert 8.8.8.8 does not attempt to use the VPN, just the local network (and succeeds) so I don't think so.


maikcat wrote:what is the selinux status on centos?

Code: Select all

[root@localhost openvpn]# sestatus
SELinux status:                 enabled
SELinuxfs mount:                /selinux
Current mode:                   enforcing
Mode from config file:          enforcing
Policy version:                 21
Policy from config file:        targeted

maikcat wrote:is iptables disabled?
Yes -

Code: Select all

[root@localhost openvpn]# lsmod | grep ip_tables
[root@localhost openvpn]#


Edit: I just disabled SELinux to test it, the box is restarting.
Edit #2: Disabling SELinux didn't change anything.

tnok85
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:55 pm

Re: Can't get access to remote LAN - connects though

Post by tnok85 » Fri Dec 09, 2011 3:07 pm

A definite step in the right direction!

I can now ping and connect to the router the VPN is behind, but that's it.

Client Network: 192.168.4.0
Client PC: 192.168.4.2 / 10.8.0.2

LAN Network: 192.168.1.0
LAN Router: 192.168.1.6
LAN DNS Server: 192.168.1.30
LAN VPN Server: 192.168.1.126 / 10.8.0.1


The only change I made from my last post was to add "route 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0" to my client's config. Now I'm curious as to why I can ONLY connect to the router (192.168.1.6) and the VPN server via 10.8.0.1 or 192.168.1.126. I assume it's something to do with the static route I have set up on the router.


Edit: Pic of static route config -
Image

User avatar
Mimiko
Forum Team
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 3:18 am

Re: Can only ping/access Router and OpenVPN Server

Post by Mimiko » Fri Dec 09, 2011 5:58 pm

The only change I made from my last post was to add "route 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0" to my client's config. Now I'm curious as to why I can ONLY connect to the router (192.168.1.6) and the VPN server via 10.8.0.1 or 192.168.1.126. I assume it's something to do with the static route I have set up on the router.
It's a tipical problem when OpenVPN is not on the same IP as the lan router. On every hos on the lan 192.168.1.0 add a route like:

Code: Select all

route add 10.8.0.0 mask 255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.1.126

tnok85
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:55 pm

Re: Can only ping/access Router and OpenVPN Server

Post by tnok85 » Fri Dec 09, 2011 6:58 pm

Mimiko wrote:
The only change I made from my last post was to add "route 192.168.1.0 255.255.255.0" to my client's config. Now I'm curious as to why I can ONLY connect to the router (192.168.1.6) and the VPN server via 10.8.0.1 or 192.168.1.126. I assume it's something to do with the static route I have set up on the router.
It's a tipical problem when OpenVPN is not on the same IP as the lan router. On every hos on the lan 192.168.1.0 add a route like:

Code: Select all

route add 10.8.0.0 mask 255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.1.126
That did it. Thank you so much! Thankfully I only need this client to have access to a few file and web servers, so this will definitely suffice.

For reference to anybody who finds this later while searching - Windows 2003 servers go to start/run/cmd and remove the GW like below - just sub in your own IPs.

Code: Select all

route add 10.8.0.0 mask 255.255.255.0 192.168.1.126

Curious though - the only alternative is to actually run the OpenVPN server as a router?

User avatar
maikcat
Forum Team
Posts: 4200
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2011 9:23 am
Location: Athens,Greece
Contact:

Re: Can only ping/access Router and OpenVPN Server

Post by maikcat » Mon Dec 12, 2011 7:53 am

normally the static route on netgear itself would do the work...

if you disable firewall on netgear,is it change anything?

keep as default gateway on your pc the netgear for the testing..

Michael.
Amiga 500 , Zx +2 owner
Long live Dino Dini (Kick off 2 Creator)

Inflammable means flammable? (Dr Nick Riviera,Simsons Season13)

"objects in mirror are losing"

tnok85
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 09, 2011 12:55 pm

Re: Can only ping/access Router and OpenVPN Server

Post by tnok85 » Tue Dec 13, 2011 1:13 pm

maikcat wrote:normally the static route on netgear itself would do the work...

if you disable firewall on netgear,is it change anything?

keep as default gateway on your pc the netgear for the testing..

Michael.
I'll have to wait for a maint window to test disabling the firewall, and even then I'm not terribly comfortable with it.

As for changing the gateway, I change the gw from 192.168.1.126 (the OpenVPN server) to 192.168.1.6 (router address).

Code: Select all

route add 10.8.0.0 mask 255.255.255.0 gw 192.168.1.6
Unfortunately it hasn't appeared to change anything. One of the PCs that we need a connection to is running Windows XP Embedded (for a DVR Camera system) and adding a route there manually doesn't appear to be working at all. Another is a Red Hat box that isn't mine, and I'm hesitant to ask the owner to add a route - he's not very experienced with Linux, just the software that runs on it (a Pick database).

The screenshot I posted above showing the Netgear settings is correct?


Edit: I just removed the static route on the Netgear and nothing at all changed, so I don't think it's doing anything... heh.

Edit #2: I just tried to add a new static route and it's giving me an error saying "Command Returned Error" with no information. Nothing to do with OpenVPN, I'm just so sick of this router - it's such a PITA.

User avatar
Mimiko
Forum Team
Posts: 1564
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 3:18 am

Re: Can only ping/access Router and OpenVPN Server

Post by Mimiko » Thu Dec 15, 2011 8:31 pm

Routers tend to do trouble on adding redirecting routers. Post the issue to Netgear support.

Post Reply