VPN Config Password Help

This forum is for general conversation and user-user networking.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

morley86
OpenVpn Newbie

VPN Config Password Help

Post by morley86 » Thu Mar 07, 2024 12:06 pm

I have recently taken over the IT for a company that has an automatic VPN configured on all their laptops to ensure all traffic is forced through the main network when staff are out and about. I am totally new to OpenVPN and, unfortunately, the outgoing IT guy left under bad circumstances and left literally NO documentation on how anything is set up. I have Admin access to things but that's about it. No other passwords or anything.

I am therefore trying to reverse engineer how the VPN connection is set up so I can configure it on any new laptops that need to be rolled out. The problem is, I cannot work out exactly how OpenVPN authenticates to the server (a Sophos XG appliance).

The connection is configured on a schedule that runs on system start-up as a specific local Windows user account dedicated for this task. This runs the following command: "C:\Program Files\OpenVPN\bin\openvpn-gui.exe" --connect "[Redacted_File_Name].ovpn"
I can see from the logs that this runs the config files stored in the local user account's OpenVPN folder.

From what I can see, each laptop looks to authenticate using a unique username that matches the name of the PC, and I can see coresponding user account configured on the Sophos XG. But I can't work out where it gets the password from. If I run OpenVPN GUI as any other user on the laptop and call the same config file, a box pops up with the username pre-populated (the name of the laptop) and prompts for a password which I don't know.