Can I limit the connection time and only allow 1 user in the same time?

Need help configuring your VPN? Just post here and you'll get that help.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

Forum rules
Please use the [oconf] BB tag for openvpn Configurations. See viewtopic.php?f=30&t=21589 for an example.
newbieuser
OpenVpn Newbie

Can I limit the connection time and only allow 1 user in the same time?

Post by newbieuser » Wed May 24, 2023 9:50 am

Hi

I am not a native speaker and I am very new to this stuff. If I asked any thing stupid please bear with me. :D

I am running a openvpn server in my Asus router with Merlin firmware. I just use the the basic setting in the WebUI and it works. But for security reason I wish I could setup more limitations.

I hope the openvpn server could auto force disconnect the client side like every 5 mins, and it would be better if only allow one user to login use the vpn server at the same time.

I am not sure what I should do to setup the above settings. I will appreciate if anyone could provide any kind of help.
I am a newbie. so if I need to run any script or something please tell me how to do it step by step. I do enable the ssh in my router already.

Fadim
OpenVPN User

Re: Can I limit the connection time and only allow 1 user in the same time?

Post by Fadim » Thu May 25, 2023 12:16 pm

As far as I know, to limit a user to a single connection, you can add the line "duplicate-cn" to your OpenVPN server configuration file, which is typically /etc/openvpn/server.conf. However, be aware that this will limit every user to a single connection, not just a specific one.

As for automatically disconnecting clients every 5 minutes, you can add the "reneg-sec 300" line to your server.conf file. This forces re-authentication every 300 seconds (5 minutes), effectively disconnecting and then reconnecting the client.

Here's how to do this via SSH:

1. Connect to your router via SSH.