"OpenVPN Connected With Errors" -> Configuring Client-Specific Rules and Access Policies

Need help configuring your VPN? Just post here and you'll get that help.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

Forum rules
Please use the [oconf] BB tag for openvpn Configurations. See viewtopic.php?f=30&t=21589 for an example.
virtualizer
OpenVpn Newbie

"OpenVPN Connected With Errors" -> Configuring Client-Specific Rules and Access Policies

Post by virtualizer » Thu Mar 09, 2023 5:06 pm

Howdy mates,

I'm relatively new to OpenVPN having only set up a couple of OpenVPN server/client configs in the past. I decided to get fancy this time and try something new, but it's not working.

I was using this tutorial (https://openvpn.net/community-resources ... s-policies) to configure client-specific rules and access policies based on the virtual IP address assigned to the client.

I've got a Linux box for my server with the latest version of OpenVPN; this is my server.conf file:
=====================================

Code: Select all

port 1194
proto udp
dev tun
ca ca.crt
cert server.crt
key server.key
dh none
topology subnet
server 10.109.0.0 255.255.0.0
ifconfig-pool-persist /var/log/openvpn/ipp.txt
client-config-dir ccd
route 10.111.109.0 255.255.255.0
push "redirect-gateway def1 bypass-dhcp"
push "dhcp-option DNS 1.1.1.1"
keepalive 10 120
tls-crypt ta.key
cipher AES-256-GCM
auth SHA256
user nobody
group nogroup
persist-key
persist-tun
++++++++++++++++++++

My client .ovpn file:

client
dev tun
proto udp
remote [DNS_NAME/STATIC_IP] 1194
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
user nobody
group nogroup
persist-key
persist-tun
remote-cert-tls server
key-direction 1
cipher AES-256-GCM
auth SHA256
verb 9
mute 20

[CERTS & KEYS -> REMOVED]