TRYing to EnableVPN service

This forum is for general conversation and user-user networking.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

AlpineKid73
OpenVpn Newbie

TRYing to EnableVPN service

Post by AlpineKid73 » Fri Feb 24, 2023 7:56 pm

I am using a Netgear router R7000P and am trying to put a VPN on my computer.
I am a novice at this. Can I get some help, please.

I am using Windows 11 PRO.

I have followed this ‘How do I enable the VPN feature on my NETGEAR router using a Windows computer?’, see below.
I did the part ‘To enable the VPN feature: from #1 to #8 where I installed OpenVPN-2.6.0-1005-amd64.
Now I am at #16.
Number 17, Unzip the configuration files that you downloaded and copy them to a folder where the VPN client is installed on your device.
I copied the files to here, For a client device running 64-bit Windows, the VPN client is installed at C:\Programfiles\OpenVPN\config\ by default.
Now I am confused with #18 - For client devices with Windows, modify the VPN interface name to NETGEAR-VPN:
a. On your computer, go to the Networks page. Where is this?? In Control Panel does not have this. In Settings > System > Network & internet > Ethernet it does not have this.
If you are using Windows 10, select Start > Settings > Network & Internet > Ethernet.
If you are using Windows 7, select Start > Control Panel > View network status and tasks.
b. Select Change adapter settings.

How do I know if the VPN is working?

How can it be tested?

This is from NETGEAR,
How do I enable the VPN feature on my NETGEAR router using a Windows computer?