Homelab setup with OpenVPN

This forum is for admins who are looking to build or expand their OpenVPN setup.
Forum rules
Please use the [oconf] BB tag for openvpn Configurations. See viewtopic.php?f=30&t=21589 for an example.
Post Reply
FriedRice
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Aug 16, 2022 8:15 pm

Homelab setup with OpenVPN

Post by FriedRice » Tue Aug 16, 2022 8:38 pm

Hey guys, pretty new to homelab and openvpn setup in general. Was thinking I could get some pointers from any expert out there. It's my first time trying to setup a homelab. Here's what I have so far:

A - Home PC ( IPv4:192.168.0.100, Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 192.168.0.1)
B - ESXI Homelab with two VMs on there:
B-1: Windows Server 2012 (IPv4: 10.8.0.10, Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 10.8.0.1)
B-2: Windows 10 Pro that is domain joined with 2 NIC(IPv4:10.8.0.1, Mask: 255.255.255.0) and (IPv4: 192.168.0.150, Mask: 255.255.255.0) with two persistant route that I added the following way:
- route -p add 10.8.0.0 mask 255.255.255.0 192.168.0.150
- route -p add 192.168.0.0 mask 255.255.255.0 10.8.0.1
C - Home Tplinkwifi Router that I setup OpenVPN with a VPN subnet/Netmask of 10.8.0.0/24 (used for Home and Internet Network), I have also setup a Virtual server for RDP(IPv4: 192.168.0.150, Internal and External Port: 3389, Protocol: TCP

When I connect with my laptop using my phone data, it gives me an IPv4: 10.8.0.6 with a mask of 255.255.255.252, I cannot RDP into that Windows 10 Pro machine. However, I am able to ping and rdp from my Home PC just fine(without VPN). Any idea where I might have messed up?

TinCanTech
Forum Team
Posts: 11124
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:17 pm

Re: Homelab setup with OpenVPN

Post by TinCanTech » Tue Aug 16, 2022 9:26 pm

Looooooooooooong way to go.

Best to start by reading the howto. https://community.openvpn.net/openvpn/wiki/HOWTO

Post Reply