Configuring OpenVPN for adblocking.

Need help configuring your VPN? Just post here and you'll get that help.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

Forum rules
Please use the [oconf] BB tag for openvpn Configurations. See viewtopic.php?f=30&t=21589 for an example.
anudeep
OpenVpn Newbie

Configuring OpenVPN for adblocking.

Post by anudeep » Mon Jan 16, 2017 2:57 pm

Hi,
This is my first post here, I'm a beginner so bear with me! :)
I have an adblocking server running on raspberry pi 3. It's called 'pihole'. I love the project. In a nutshell it doesn't resolve the ad serving domains. So when I have this on my home network and works fine. But I want it to work when I'm away from home. So I need VPN.

Firstly I want both of them to run on the same computer. I want help to set up OpenVPN and configure OpenVPN's DNS server as my pihole. I don't know how to make it work together. Please help.

SomeGuy
OpenVPN Power User

Re: Configuring OpenVPN for adblocking.

Post by SomeGuy » Mon Jan 16, 2017 3:32 pm

For your server configs, check out options "redirect-gateway" with its options, depending on how you want your traffic to be passed, and for DNS read about option "dhcp-option" (specifically "DNS" under "dhcp-option")

Reading how to use those options should help you to get what you want.

anudeep
OpenVpn Newbie

Post by anudeep » Tue Jan 17, 2017 6:01 am

I don't want route all web traffic to OpenVPN only the DNS queries, adblocking is only my intention.
Is this the right command-push "dhcp-option DNS 10.8.0.1?
Since both pihole and OpenVPN is running on same machine, setting up it's static IP as DNS server of VPN can cause problems?

Also I want to install OpenVPN using piVPN since it is easy, what do you say about this?
www.pivpn.io

SomeGuy
OpenVPN Power User

Post by SomeGuy » Tue Jan 17, 2017 10:50 am

anudeep wrote:I don't want route all web traffic to OpenVPN only the DNS queries, adblocking is only my intention.