Setting up a config file (CA ERROR)

Need help configuring your VPN? Just post here and you'll get that help.
Forum rules
Please use the [oconf] BB tag for openvpn Configurations. See viewtopic.php?f=30&t=21589 for an example.
Post Reply
matamor
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 11:42 am

Setting up a config file (CA ERROR)

Post by matamor » Thu Sep 23, 2021 11:48 am

Hello! I've been trying to setup an OpenVPN server, i was using a guide and everything was working just right, but when i had to connect the VPN it keeps failing, i have checked the log file and i get this message:

Code: Select all

Options error: Unrecognized option or missing or extra parameter(s) in server.ovpn:78: ca (2.4.8)
Use --help for more information.
Which is weird, either "ca" option is missing or it is missing parameters, here is the line of the error:

Code: Select all

# Any X509 key management system can be used.
# OpenVPN can also use a PKCS #12 formatted key file
# (see "pkcs12" directive in man page).
ca “C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\ca.crt”
cert “C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\matamor.crt”
key “C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\matamor.key”
I don't see anything wrong with it, all the files are in the right place:
Image
The image is in spanish but you can still see the files and the path is the right one.
I hope anyone knows what's actually going on, thanks for your time!

User avatar
Pippin
Forum Team
Posts: 1004
Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 8:03 am

Re: Setting up a config file (CA ERROR)

Post by Pippin » Thu Sep 23, 2021 3:53 pm

Hi matamor,

Code: Select all

ca “C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\ca.crt”
cert “C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\matamor.crt”
key “C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\matamor.key”
Changing quotes to

Code: Select all

ca "C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\ca.crt"
cert "C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\matamor.crt"
key "C:\\Program Files\\OpenVPN\\config\\matamor.key"
is probably the solution.

matamor
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 23, 2021 11:42 am

Re: Setting up a config file (CA ERROR)

Post by matamor » Thu Sep 23, 2021 7:54 pm

I can't believe that was the problem... Thank you anyways, i would have never figured that out on my own.

User avatar
TinCanTech
Forum Team
Posts: 9730
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:17 pm

Re: Setting up a config file (CA ERROR)

Post by TinCanTech » Thu Sep 23, 2021 8:13 pm

That's Windblows for you ..

Post Reply