Getting started with OpenVPN

This forum is for all inquiries relating to the installation of OpenVPN from source and with binaries.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

Forum rules
Please visit (and READ) the OpenVPN HowTo http://openvpn.net/howto prior to asking any questions in here!
Kartik
OpenVpn Newbie

Getting started with OpenVPN

Post by Kartik » Sat Feb 13, 2010 3:30 pm

Hi,

I am just getting started with OpenVPN. I have few questions, please do give your valuable feedback/answers as you have a lot experience and know a lot more:

-How is Openvpn related to TLS VPN ?
-Is there any difference between TLS VPN and OpenVPN?
-In order to practically implement OpenVPN, I where so I need to install server. Can you please give a me a example of a vpn setup, like where is server and where is client and how does everything works?
-Can I install a OpenVPN server on Windows 7 or it can be installed only on a Windows server OS ?
-Can you guide me to a good book, where OpenVPN is explained in a very simplified manner.

I really want to know about it, please drop in your answers!!

Thank you.

Kartik

krzee
Forum Team

Re: Getting started with OpenVPN

Post by krzee » Tue Feb 16, 2010 10:52 am

Kartik wrote: -How is Openvpn related to TLS VPN ?
OpenVPN is a SSL / TLS VPN.
Kartik wrote: -Is there any difference between TLS VPN and OpenVPN?
OpenVPN uses SSL / TLS via openssl, but any other software is also able to use it.
Kartik wrote: -In order to practically implement OpenVPN, I where so I need to install server. Can you please give a me a example of a vpn setup, like where is server and where is client and how does everything works?