OpenVPN, Squid and two networks. How to setup routing?

This forum is for admins who are looking to build or expand their OpenVPN setup.
Forum rules
Please use the [oconf] BB tag for openvpn Configurations. See viewtopic.php?f=30&t=21589 for an example.
Post Reply
telepups
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:28 pm

OpenVPN, Squid and two networks. How to setup routing?

Post by telepups » Tue Sep 28, 2010 10:28 pm

Hi,

i hope this is the right place to post this problem!

I have a server with two different jobs, the first job is openvpn, the second is to be a proxy.
The sever has two network interfaces with two different networks (internet connections).
The first network is the internal network. This network has a 2 mbit internet connection with static ip which should be used to access the openvpn server. The second network is only a 16 mbit internet connection without staitc ip, this network should be used to access the internet (using the squid proxy).

And now the problem:
If i set the default gateway to network one (internal with 2mbit internet), i can establish a vpn connection using the static ip. Now the squid will use the 2mbit internet connection to access the internet, but the squid should use the other network (16mbit) to access the internt. The 2 mbit connection should only be used for vpn connection.
If i set the default gateway to network two (16 mbit internet), the squid will use this connection to access the internet, but i can't establish a vpn connection using the static ip. I can establish a vpn connection if i use the dynamic ip of the 16 mbit connection.

I don't know how to setup the server to use the 2mbit connection for vpn and the 16mbit connection for squid.

Does anybody know a solution without using two different computers?

Best regards,
Benjamin Tietze

PS: I hope my english is understandable.

telepups
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2010 9:28 pm

Re: OpenVPN, Squid and two networks. How to setup routing?

Post by telepups » Sun Oct 03, 2010 10:30 pm

Really nobody who can help me? :cry:

User avatar
krzee
Forum Team
Posts: 729
Joined: Fri Aug 29, 2008 5:42 pm

Re: OpenVPN, Squid and two networks. How to setup routing?

Post by krzee » Tue Nov 16, 2010 11:22 am

this should be something to configure in squid. It is easily done in dante (a socks daemon that i have used)

Post Reply