Site to Site on unknown remote network

This forum is for admins who are looking to build or expand their OpenVPN setup.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

Forum rules
Please use the [oconf] BB tag for openvpn Configurations. See viewtopic.php?f=30&t=21589 for an example.
fox_pluto
OpenVpn Newbie

Site to Site on unknown remote network

Post by fox_pluto » Sat May 08, 2021 7:53 am

Dear Forum,

I am new to openVPN so apologise me if I am saying something wrong.

I am trying to configure a VPN infrastructure to interconnect my company headquarter to several remote sites.
I have installed a OpenVPN Server and I am able to connect to the server, for testing purpose, with a laptop.

My final goal is to interconnect a remote site and to reach a couple of machine in the remote site; unfortunately the device I am using in remote actually a RaspBerry Pi has only one network interface.

So basically my network is:

Code: Select all

Local PCs<---Company LAN--->Server <--internet--> Raspberry (client) <--remote LAN with Internet--> remote device
I would like to ssh from a local PC to the remote device and control it.
For the Open VPN network I am using the default 10.8.0.0/24 network, so the Server is 10.8.0.1 and the Raspberry is 10.8.0.6 and I can ping the Raspberry from the server.

My requirements are:
* I want to connect from Local PCs to remote device via ssh
* I want the remote device being able to connect to Local PCs via ssh
* I want remote device could connect to Internet without using the OpenVPN tunnel but using the Remote LAN Internet connection

My questions are:
* do I have to assign a fixed IP like 10.8.0.9 to the remote device ?
* do I have on the remote device to set like Default Gateway the Raspberry Client and configure the Raspberry Client to split tunnel?

In general I am a bit confused about the IP and networks requirement for the remote device.

Thanks for your help,
Stefano

tedm
OpenVpn Newbie