Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post Reply
multiformeingegno
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:54 pm

Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by multiformeingegno » Wed Oct 03, 2018 11:05 pm

I can connect fine (at least it appears this way) but I cannot browse. Bytes IN/OUT remain at around 300B/S.
I have tried with 3 different VPNs (2 with credentials, one with certificate), all the same.
Nothing in the logs, everything seems fine. EVENT: CONNECTED with no errors
But data doesn’t flow..
Screenshot: https://www.dropbox.com/s/x7mg6tknf8dsq ... 7.png?dl=0

I am on iOS 12.0, iPhone 8

All 3 VPNs worked with the previous version

pjb
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:13 am

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by pjb » Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:15 am

Hi, Yes same issue it does not work after update I can ping my server but ssh or http do not work

stdbma
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:02 am

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by stdbma » Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:16 am

Hello, I believe I had the same issue. It seems like this latest 3.0.2 update toggled and disabled compression by default (due to apparent security reasons), but that made my VPN not work for me, as my server is pushing compression.

I went into the OpenVPN app settings and re-enabled compression and it began working again - perhaps this is the same issue you are having? If that works, due to compression apparently being insecure enough to be toggled off with this update, I'm assuming that compression should be disabled through the server configuration now, as well as in the OpenVPN app.

pjb
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 8:13 am

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by pjb » Thu Oct 04, 2018 11:18 am

Ok solved just changed Allow Compression settings from no to Downlink Only I will check with my server configuration later

c0nd3st@v3l
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:34 pm

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by c0nd3st@v3l » Thu Oct 04, 2018 1:40 pm

I was also experiencing this issue and can also confirm that allowing compression in the Settings, it solves the issue.
Thanks for the tip!

PS: Just editing this comment to say that in order to disable compression, in the server.conf, I had 'compress lz4' and changed to 'compress' and this takes car of disabling compression on the server side.

multiformeingegno
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 12:54 pm

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by multiformeingegno » Thu Oct 04, 2018 4:42 pm

Thanks - can confirm that setting compression to downlink only works for me. Does anyone have documentation regarding compression not being secure? Thanks

lodgical
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:26 pm

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by lodgical » Fri Oct 05, 2018 2:30 pm

Thanks - I had the same problem. I could log on and launch a local webpage but the external content was blank, so thought it was a DNS issue. I've just spent the morning re-installing the software, resetting the router and re-issuing the accounts..... only to find it still didn't work. As a last resort, I came here (a bit like reading a user manual once all else has failed) and found the solution. Many thanks to those that are much cleverer that I am and sussed this out.... although I did look at this setting yesterday but was put off by the fact that it said it was insecure.
Oh well - at least it's working again now :)

joedoelv
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:37 pm

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by joedoelv » Tue Oct 09, 2018 2:46 pm

If compression is disabled on the client, the maximum ping size that works is 278 bytes only.
Therefore, ovpn connection is established, even 64 bytes pings are ok, but nothing else working.
Allowing compression is workaround, for sure.

GuyPickering
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:07 am

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by GuyPickering » Thu Oct 11, 2018 4:09 am

I just spent two days learning more than I care to mention about tcpdump, mtu and a whole manner of tcp/udp topics, only to find I too had to simply change 'compress lz4' to 'compress' in server.conf. This thread was a blessing - THANK YOU!

OpenVPNTest
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2018 2:07 pm

Re: Cannot browse at all on 3.0.2(894)

Post by OpenVPNTest » Thu Oct 11, 2018 10:47 am

Actually, it's best to remove the line completely from server and client config because of Voracle. See here...
https://community.openvpn.net/openvpn/wiki/VORACLE

Post Reply