RDP not working through tunnel

Official client software for OpenVPN Access Server and OpenVPN Cloud.
Post Reply
og6hy7
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:16 am

RDP not working through tunnel

Post by og6hy7 » Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:24 am

I have an OpenVPN AS server setup to connect me to my home. When I run the tunnel from Windows into my network from work, it works perfectly fine. I can access my web pages, ssh and rdp just fine.

However, when I try from IOS, RDP will not work. SSH and web pages work fine, it just seems to be RDP.

To make this issue more complicated:

If I am connected to cellular data, the issue occurs.
If I am connected to a wifi network (Exact same setup, aside from connecting network), it works just fine.

I have tried on my partners phone and the same issue occurs. If I am connected to her personal hotspot, it works just fine however.

I have uninstalled OpenVPN Connect and reinstalled it multiple times.

I am at a loss, any clue on what could be happening?

og6hy7
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2021 11:16 am

Re: RDP not working through tunnel

Post by og6hy7 » Mon Oct 18, 2021 6:24 am

Ok, I changed mobile networks as a test (Was with Telstra, now with Optus on prepaid) and it worked fine. Sigh, stupid Telstra.

I thought by using a VPN you are hiding your traffic from your provider. Have I misconfigured something?

Edit:

If I enable "Should client Internet traffic be routed through the VPN?", it works. I don't want internet traffic routed though

Post Reply