Page 1 of 1

Can put ESXi bridge to work, client connects but no bridge.

Posted: Fri May 04, 2012 12:19 pm
by vincentvije
Please,

I can't put to work my Openvpn ESXi bridge to work.

Could someone show me it's ifconfig output, so I could figure what is wrong in my config ?

Or could someone help me ?
I'm developer public school teacher, not network specialist. But I need this bridge to make some tests.

I installed Openvpn Access Serveur Virtual Appliance in my ESXi box.
Then my /etc/network/interfaces :

Code: Select all

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

# The primary network interface
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet static
        address 200.53.114.43
        netmask 255.255.255.240
        gateway 200.53.114.33

#Private Network
allow-hotplug eth1
iface eth1 inet static
        address 172.1.50.9
        netmask 255.255.255.240
#       gateway x.x.x.x
My ESXi Openvpn : public IP : 200.53.114.43, and LAN : 172.1.50.9.
I put VPN mode to : Layer 2, but no Bridge Name to Join (it says it's optional).

I need to bridge from home to LAN 172.1.50.0 network, so I put in Advanced VPN -> Server Config Directive the line :

Code: Select all

ifconfig-pool 172.1.50.12 172.1.50.12 255.255.255.240
When I connect from home, I get the ip : 172.1.50.12, and the right route print entry, but I can't ping Openvpn ESXi bridge LAN ip (eth1) 172.1.50.9, neither ips from LAN computers.

In my Openvpn ESXi bridge, the ifconfig give me :

Code: Select all

as0t0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr fe:ff:ff:65:1f:00
          inet6 addr: fe80::fcff:ffff:fe65:1f00/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:1223 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:1138 errors:0 dropped:1 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:200
          RX bytes:118971 (116.1 KiB)  TX bytes:122625 (119.7 KiB)

asbr0     Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0c:29:ae:ba:74
          inet addr:200.53.114.43  Bcast:200.53.114.47  Mask:255.255.255.240
          inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:feae:ba74/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:4861 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:2774 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:541219 (528.5 KiB)  TX bytes:498187 (486.5 KiB)

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0c:29:ae:ba:74
          inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:feae:ba74/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:41472 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:4003 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:22860963 (21.8 MiB)  TX bytes:617626 (603.1 KiB)

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0c:29:ae:ba:7e
          inet addr:172.1.50.9  Bcast:172.1.50.15  Mask:255.255.255.240
          inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:feae:ba7e/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:17364 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1438884 (1.3 MiB)  TX bytes:468 (468.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:13074 (12.7 KiB)  TX bytes:13074 (12.7 KiB)
Is it normal that asbr0 get ip 200.53.114.43 ?

If I keep mode to : Layer 2, but put Bridge Name asbr0, ifconfig give me :

Code: Select all

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0c:29:ae:ba:74
          inet addr:200.53.114.43  Bcast:200.53.114.47  Mask:255.255.255.240
          inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:feae:ba74/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING PROMISC MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:42295 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:5015 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:23005868 (21.9 MiB)  TX bytes:820754 (801.5 KiB)

eth1      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:0c:29:ae:ba:7e
          inet addr:172.1.50.9  Bcast:172.1.50.15  Mask:255.255.255.240
          inet6 addr: fe80::20c:29ff:feae:ba7e/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:17631 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:6 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:1460972 (1.3 MiB)  TX bytes:468 (468.0 B)

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:31 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:13074 (12.7 KiB)  TX bytes:13074 (12.7 KiB)
But it's the same, from home I get 172.1.50.12 but can't ping 172.1.50.x nodes.

I spent some days without success. I suppose I don't have all the knowledge to fully understand the problem.
I'm teacher for public school and need this bridge for my students to learn some programing...

Please if someone can help.

Thanks a lot.

Vincent MARECHAL

Re: Can put ESXi bridge to work, client connects but no brid

Posted: Sat May 05, 2012 3:07 am
by vincentvije
Hello,

I forgot to say I put the vswitches of my ESXi box in promiscuous mode.

But my Openvpn LAN 172.1.50.9 can't ping the client 172.1.50.12, and the client can't ping the ESXi.
I don't know what to do.

I suppose the Openvpn AS should configure all the bridge but it's not this way...

Thanks to help.

Vincent MARECHAL

Re: Can put ESXi bridge to work, client connects but no brid

Posted: Fri May 18, 2012 7:08 am
by Mimiko
You have to configure OpenVPN AS in bridge mode. Also not every Virtual Server Host can route packets from tunnel to LAN.