Setting up OpenVPN AS on Hyper-V to Connect to Home Desktop?

Business solution to host your own OpenVPN server with web management interface and bundled clients.
cerealserver
OpenVpn Newbie

Setting up OpenVPN AS on Hyper-V to Connect to Home Desktop?

Post by cerealserver » Tue Feb 05, 2019 5:57 pm

Hello!

I'm a hobbyist, decided to try out OpenVPN Access Server. I searched many many times for a tutorial that cover my situation but even if there is, the technical terminologies used is beyond me. My goals are simple:
  • ability to connect to home desktop, running on Win 10 Pro, to access the installed Matlab there, from anywhere as long as I have access to internet
  • but through secure connections, I thought that means I need my other laptop to be connected to this desktop via VPN
  • I also want to hide my IP location whenever I'm using public Wi-Fi
  • bypassing geo restrictions to contents in the US when I'm traveling internationally by VPN connection
  • being able to connect to this access server on my phone running iOS
Here's what I've tried so far:
  1. Downloaded the OpenVPN AS VHD and followed the instructions here: https://openvpn.net/vpn-server-resource ... n-hyper-v/
  2. Created one external virtual switch to be connected with physical NIC, and allowed sharing with management OS. There's already a default internal switch, which comes with Hyper-V, which is said to have NAT capability
  3. Also this home desktop is connected via ethernet to a modem router which gives wireless internet to the entire home
That's where I'm stuck. When I started the initial configuration for OpenVPN Access Server, I couldn't use 0.0.0.0. Hence, in the 01-netcfg.yaml, I set an IP within the subnet of home router which I know was leased to a forgotten device before (let's say final octet is 130) for eth0, with a hope that my modem router would recognize this VM. Eth0 is the virtual adapter connected to the external switch.