Connected but cannot ping

How to customize and extend your OpenVPN installation.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

Post Reply
dront10
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:24 pm

Connected but cannot ping

Post by dront10 » Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:39 am

I am creating my own GUI to connect to the companies VPN. The problem I am facing is that even though I get the message "Initialization Sequence Completed" and the routing table is set up, I am still not able to ping the server.

Client config

dev-type tap
dev-node LedVPN_0
client
;dev tap
dev tun
;dev-node MyTap
;proto tcp
proto udp
remote vpn.ledinek.com 1194
;remote my-server-2 1194
;remote-random
resolv-retry infinite
nobind
;mtu-test
;user nobody
;group nobody
persist-key
persist-tun
;http-proxy-retry # retry on connection failures
;http-proxy [proxy server] [proxy port #]
;mute-replay-warnings
ca "ca-vpn-ledinek-com.crt"
cert "client-vpn-ledinek-com.crt"
key "client-vpn-ledinek-com.key"
tls-auth ta-vpn-ledinek-com.key 1
cipher AES-256-CBC
verb 3
;mute 20
auth-user-pass passfile.txt
management 127.0.0.1

Code: Select all

Management interface reply: 
>LOG:1604968132,,C:\WINDOWS\system32\route.exe ADD 192.168.25.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.243.1
>LOG:1604968132,,Route addition via service succeeded
>LOG:1604968132,,C:\WINDOWS\system32\route.exe ADD 192.168.77.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.243.1
>LOG:1604968132,,Route addition via service succeeded
>LOG:1604968132,,C:\WINDOWS\system32\route.exe ADD 192.168.80.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.243.1
>LOG:1604968132,,Route addition via service succeeded
>LOG:1604968132,,C:\WINDOWS\system32\route.exe ADD 192.168.90.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.243.1
>LOG:1604968132,,Route addition via service succeeded
>LOG:1604968132,,C:\WINDOWS\system32\route.exe ADD 192.168.10.0 MASK 255.255.255.0 192.168.243.1
>LOG:1604968132,,Route addition via service succeeded
>LOG:1604968132,I,Initialization Sequence Completed
I know the routing table is set up correctly because when I connect through the OpenVPN GUI, I am able to ping the server and the routing tables from the OpenVPN GUI and from the Custom GUI I'm making are the same.

Been stuck on this point for a couple of weeks now.
Last edited by Pippin on Tue Nov 10, 2020 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Formatting

TinCanTech
OpenVPN Protagonist
Posts: 11137
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:17 pm

Re: Connected but cannot ping

Post by TinCanTech » Tue Nov 10, 2020 1:20 am

dront10 wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:39 am
I am creating my own GUI to connect to the companies VPN
Sounds like work.

I am available for hire.

dront10
OpenVpn Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 1:24 pm

Re: Connected but cannot ping

Post by dront10 » Tue Nov 10, 2020 1:27 am

TinCanTech wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 1:20 am
dront10 wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:39 am
I am creating my own GUI to connect to the companies VPN
Sounds like work.

I am available for hire.
to be honest, I'm basically doing this in my free time for fun and don't get paid for it. The OpenVPN GUI works perfectly fine, I just wanted to make it a little bit more user friendly for out purpose and more about OpenVPN and C#.

TinCanTech
OpenVPN Protagonist
Posts: 11137
Joined: Fri Jun 03, 2016 1:17 pm

Re: Connected but cannot ping

Post by TinCanTech » Tue Nov 10, 2020 1:59 am

dront10 wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:39 am
Re: Connected but cannot ping
dront10 wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 12:39 am
I am creating my own GUI to connect to the companies VPN
dront10 wrote:
Tue Nov 10, 2020 1:27 am
I'm basically doing this in my free time for fun and don't get paid for it
Laser like focus .....


Start with the Howto. Also see the github repo for openvpn and the GUI.

300000
OpenVPN Expert
Posts: 685
Joined: Tue May 01, 2012 9:30 pm

Re: Connected but cannot ping

Post by 300000 » Sat Nov 14, 2020 10:19 pm

there is no ip address on the virtual card , can you check it first . if you setting up tap it will full of broadcast and slow down everything . if for personal is ok but the more Pc you add in the more it will be slow downs and cant use ,setting tap quite trouble getting ip address so try to find it out

Post Reply