When you download and install the connect client, it gets instructions on where to connect to then and there. It doesn't update afterwards by itself. So in theory changing the field 'host name or IP address' on the server has absolutely no effect on an already installed client.
In any case, check this page;
https://docs.openvpn.net/troubleshooting/troubleshooting-client-vpn-tunnel-connectivity/