jamesyonan wroteThe two notifications are something that Android requires to affirm that the VPN
session is high priority and should not be arbitrarily terminated by the system.
We originally had one notification but found that Android would often kill the VPN session without warning.
One of the notifications is generated by Android itself to show that a VPN is active. This is out of the control of the app.
The other notification indicates that OpenVPN is a high-priority service. Without this notification, Android would assume that it's okay to automatically kill the service if it goes into the background, which happens every time you switch away from OpenVPN to another app.
James
Once again, that makes perfect sense, and can now understand why things are the way they are!
Thanks for another thorough explanation, very much appreciated! 🙂