Additional IP-adresses in 1 OpenVPN-tunnel [Newbie]

Scripts with setup, destroy, and modify routing tables and firewall rulesets for client connections.

Moderators: TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech, TinCanTech

berserkargang
OpenVpn Newbie

Additional IP-adresses in 1 OpenVPN-tunnel [Newbie]

Post by berserkargang » Mon Dec 12, 2011 2:54 pm

Hi!
First of all, I'm totally new to OpenVPN, so bare with me.

I'm using a tunnel from a VPNservice provider and at first I had no problems at all. I connected and got the intended public IP-adress. Now however, I've bought a additional IP-adress to the existing tunnel and as I understand i cant start another VPN-instance, but I have to route the secondary IP-adress from the computer with the openvpn-connection to another computer in my network. So do I have to change anything in my config file to make client "accept" another ip-adress? Currently it looks like this:

Code: Select all

dev tap
remote 88.80.30.7
float 88.80.30.7
port 5180
ifconfig 88.80.28.224 255.255.255.128
route-gateway 88.80.28.129
redirect-gateway def1
secret prq.key
cipher AES-128-CBC
dhcp-option DNS 88.80.8.8
comp-lzo
route-method exe
route-delay 2

janjust
Forum Team

Re: Additional IP-adresses in 1 OpenVPN-tunnel [Newbie]

Post by janjust » Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:49 pm

interesting VPN setup from the provider... have you tried connecting both PCs using the config file supplied by the VPN provider, i.e. your old pc using the config as described earlier, your new pc using a config with only the IP address (and possibly remote IP) altered?

Mimiko
Forum Team

Post by Mimiko » Tue Dec 13, 2011 6:22 am

berserkargang, using Windows you will have to install a routing software on the OpenVPN client, to route all traffic for the second IP to the other computer.

berserkargang
OpenVpn Newbie

Post by berserkargang » Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:50 am