IP addresses from group pool

Business solution to host your own OpenVPN server with web management interface and bundled clients.
izchi
OpenVpn Newbie

IP addresses from group pool

Post by izchi » Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:57 am

Hi,

I'm having an issue with my OpenVPN AS installation (2.1.4) on Ubuntu 14.04. I've been using it for a few months, everything seemed to work fine. Now I need to be able to assign users to groups and have these clients assigned IP addresses only from that group's IP pool. I created a new group, under Group Permissions I added <ip_address>/<netmask> for the range, saved changes, restarted the server. I have one user assigned to this group. Now, when I connect to the OpenVPN server as that user I expect this user to be assigned an IP address from the group pool. Instead, the IP address is being assigned from the default pool configured under VPN Settings --> Dynamic IP Address Network. I checked everything I could, restarted the server - still the same result.

Any ideas what is happening and how to make sure that IP addresses from the group IP pool get assigned to the users that belong to this group?

Thank you for any help on this.

novaflash
OpenVPN Inc.

Re: IP addresses from group pool

Post by novaflash » Tue Jan 03, 2017 3:51 pm

> Group Permissions I added <ip_address>/<netmask> for the range,

Did you also use the second box to specify a range to be used to automatically assign IP addresses? Otherwise the subnet you specified for this group can only be used for static IP addresses which you must manually specify per user.

If your range for example was 192.168.70.0/24 and you want to use this whole range for automatic IP addressing then in the second box put 192.168.70.2-192.168.70.253.

Remember not to use .1 or .254 (the first and last available IP in the range) as these are reserved by the Access Server itself.